HOW I LOVE YOU, MUMMY by Anna Pignataro

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to all the mummies, mums, mummas, grannies, grandmas and nannas out there!

FullSizeRender 17

How I Love You, Mummy by Anna Pignataro

To celebrate, I’d like to share with you Anna Pignataro’s How I Love You, Mummy. I’m a big fan of Pignataro’s books that so beautifully illustrate the parent-child relationship. A favourite when my children were tiny was her book Always, so I was very excited when I came across this title, published in 2014.

In How I Love You, Mummy, we follow a number of Australian baby animals to see how they each physically express their love for their mothers. Little Red Dingo nuzzles Mummy’s nose and Little Sooty Owl nestles beneath Mummy’s feathery wings. My favourite would have to be Baby Possum who cradles Mummy’s face and says, “This is how I love you, Mummy.”

With the only repetition in the story being this special line spoken by each baby animal, little readers will no doubt be joining in and wanting to express their own unique way of showing their love for their mother (or another special someone). Each re-reading could see “Mummy” replaced with the name of whoever is reading the story, allowing the child to also connect with other family members.

As always, Pignataro’s artwork is simple and subtle and beautifully depicts our Australian flora and fauna. 

Suitable for ages 0-5, How I Love You, Mummy will delight readers and is guaranteed to foster the very special bond between parent and child.

Leave a Reply

